Sign in to follow this  
jdigs

Sir or Ma'am

32 members have voted

1. 1. Sir or Ma'am

• Sir
    • Ma'am

This is a silly poll I know..but there must be some thoughts on how one should adress a female officer.

I think you should address them however they wish to be addressed.

I agree. Personally I've never really liked being called ma'am in a formal way. Makes me feel old. :)

I nulled my vote, because I don't really like either. I know sir is more official and shows higher authority, but its kind of weird having a female called sir. If I was an officer, I don't think I would really want to be called ma'am though either (imo), so I can't really choose. I wish there was another name which could be used other than sir or ma'am.

I nulled my vote, because I don't really like either.  I know sir is more official and shows higher authority, but its kind of weird having a female called sir.  If I was an officer, I don't think I would really want to be called ma'am though either (imo), so I can't really choose. I wish there was another name which could be used other than sir or ma'am.

Well..there is..you can call them by their title..like in Star Trek.."Commander" In real life.."Mr/Ms. Smith" :)

I nulled my vote, because I don't really like either.  I know sir is more official and shows higher authority, but its kind of weird having a female called sir.  If I was an officer, I don't think I would really want to be called ma'am though either (imo), so I can't really choose. I wish there was another name which could be used other than sir or ma'am.

Well..there is..you can call them by their title..like in Star Trek.."Commander" In real life.."Mr/Ms. Smith" :)

lol, oh yeah.