Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Ace

The return of Ace!... sortof.

Rikerchick suggested that I stop by to say “hey” to everyone and since I had a few minutes free tonight, I thought I would!

So… Hi! I see some familiar names on here and I hope you’ve all been doing great in the last, oh, 2.5 years (Wow… I didn’t realize it had been that long). It looks like STF is doing well and I still may stop by from time to time to see what’s new in the world of Trek. : )

As for me, I re-read some of my old log and life is definitely different than it was 2 or 3 years ago. All of that studying I used to complain about must’ve paid off; I graduated from my university with a Business degree in both Marketing and Management back in ’07. Those four years were amazing and part of me wishes I could do it all over again!

After graduation, I took a few months off to figure out what I wanted to do with the rest of my life. I realized that even though I’m still interested in real estate, college admissions is my passion. To make the decision even easier, God had the perfect job waiting for me at just the right time (I literally found out about the position the day before it closed).

For the last year, I’ve been working for my alma-mater as an Admissions Counselor / Recruiter. I help high school students and their families from across my state (plus some of the upper Midwest -mainly Chicago) decide if this school is right for them. I get to travel for a few months out of the year and form relationships with really, really great kids. The pay ain’t half-bad either, but the best part is definitely the kids. A few years ago, I would’ve laughed if you told me I was going to take a job that required public speaking, but that’s at least half of what I do now. I’ve spoken to groups of nearly a thousand people at once (no, really) in the last year. What a difference 12 months makes, huh?