Sign in to follow this  
Jeanway

~ StarFleet Currency? ~

On a StarShip? I don't ever remember seeing anything about currency or money or coins or any rate of exchange on a starship, have you? How do they get paid? How do they buy things on a Starship? I know they use the replicators alot. How does that work exactly, anyone know?? :rolleyes:

from what I understand members of the federation like vulcan and earth don't have currency stated by picard in first contact but they all work for no money for the better of one another. Federation credits a person told me about but I am not sure, they are suppoused to be used when trading and buying from the freingi and stuff.

Ultimately these Federation "Credits" have to be redeemable for something tangible or they hold no value and the Ferengi wouldn't accept them. As an accountant I have an issue of having a "credit" without a corresponding "debit"

What is the value of a Federation Credit? What is it's purchasing power?

I don't remember hearing about any kind of currancy apart form credits, everything seems to be provided for within the Federation, mostly by replicators but i suppose when they want something hand made or unique from another planet outside the Federation then they must have to use latinum, how they obtain it I'm not sure. Probably through working for a non-Federation based company, providing services or mining it themselves.

You might recall in Encounter at Farpoint that Beverly Crusher bought some fabric and told them to charge it to her account.

Well, I'm sure that some people would have money that has been inherited. Maybe others will barter.

In the TOS episode "Mudd's Women" the dilithium miners worked for the Federation, but it was also stated that when they were done they'd be rich. So who knows?

The onlly currency I've ever heard of are credits.

278832[/snapback]