Sign in to follow this  
krysis

A question about houdini bombs

I have a question and been thinking. Hope someone can put a light to it.

There is an episode where there were mines all around a siege area in DS9. can't remember the name of the episode. Anyway, there were mines all around and our DS Niners could not detect them cos the mines hide in subspace. Anyone remember the name of the episode? Weren't they called houdinis or something?

Anyway, that means there's technology to actually hide something in subspace. Is it possible to hide a whole starship in subspace following the same principle the houdinis are hiding? I'm not very good at ST Tech so I need some help here. Somehow, when someone hits or touches one of these mines, they get killed. Could a starship also hide in there, thus effectively "cloaking" the ship?

Another question. The Jem Hadar had shrouding tech. Why doesn't the Feds ever learn the tech and employ it on their own staff for dangerous missions?

I hope my questions don't make me sound silly. I humbly thank everyone who can help me here.

:huh: :huh: :laugh:

That was the episode "The Siege of AR-558" and if I recall it was mentioned that the technology was outlawed (I could be wrong on that but I don't have time right now to go check it). The mines would hide in subspace like you mentioned and would randomly "decloak" and if someone or something was close enough to it the minw would go off.

Good season 7 episode.

As for the question of a ship doing the same thing, It may be possible to do that but I beliee tht if it is in subspace then it would exist in a different "reality" for lack of a better term and wouldn't be the same as being "cloaked".

Again though, I could be wrong on that though. If someone hasn't given a more detailed answer on this later I will research it more fully.

Wow! That was a fast reply. Thanks. I didn't expect one until tomorrow.