Sign in to follow this  
Jeanway

CUISINE IS BOTH AN ART AND A SCIENCE

QUOTE: It is an art when it strives to bring about the true and the beautiful in the order of culinary ideas. As a science it respects chemistry, physics and natural history. It's axioms are called aphorisms, it's theorems recipes, and it's philosophy gastronomy

I dedicate this thread to nik :)

Aw, shucks, Jeanway, you're very kind! (Where's the blushing smiley?)

That's a great quote! Where did you get it? It sounds like something I had

hanging in a kitchen once upon a time in another place.

That's funny nik, this is something I also have hanging in my kitchen. It was a menu from a restaurant in Boston. Ring a bell? I thought it was so beautiful , I had it framed. :) Scambo? I got it when I was just a lttle girl and saved it. :) Got any good Theorems? :)

In high school, I worked in a pretty nice restaurant, starting off as a prep cook, and then getting promoted to chef by the time I graduated. We used to take great pride in

our work. The exec-chef would always say, "Make every plate a Mona Lisa." I remember he had a framed quote in his office, and I think that was it. He (and hence,

the rest of the crew) really took cooking seriously. Indeed, it is both art and science.

We always found time to "experiment" - different techniques, different recipes, different

tools. While I found the art to be tremendously fullfilling, my niche in the kitchen was sort of as the chief science office (yes, the exec ran the kitchen like a well-tuned

naval vessel). The most efficient cooks were the ones who had in intimate knowledge of things like specific heats (i.e., why a potato take a while to bake, while a filet

mignon can take minutes), thermodynamic conduction (why you use higher heat to