Sign in to follow this  
A l t e r E g o

Science Roundup: All Hale-Bopp!

Science Roundup: All Hale-Bopp!

120x90.jpg

Alan Hale, co-discoverer of the Hale-Bopp comet, is holding a celebration in honor of his decade-old discovery later this year. Hale, an astronomer, is also raising funds for Earthrise, a project to make education in astronomy more accessible and interesting to students. He's based in New Mexico and we are publishing his letter to help raise awareness of the event.

Dear friends of Star Trek,

Please allow me to introduce myself. I am one of the co-discoverers of Comet Hale-Bopp, which many of you should remember from its appearance in our skies several years ago. I am also a professional astronomer, and am director of a small educational and research organization that I started several years ago here in New Mexico. And, I should add, I've also been a long-time Star Trek fan, ever since the earliest days when Captain Kirk and his crew were taking the Enterprise to places "where no man has gone before."

It seems hard to believe, but this coming July marks the 10-year anniversary of the Hale-Bopp discovery. To mark the occasion, I am having a two-day celebration on July 22 and 23 (Friday and Saturday), to be held at the Tays Special Events Center in Alamogordo, New Mexico (on the campus of New Mexico State University — Alamogordo). I am inviting numerous individuals from the fields of science, space, and science fiction to come be a part of this event and to help celebrate the discovery anniversary with me. We will be having several side events in conjunction with the main event, including — hopefully — a benefit concert.