Sign in to follow this  
Theunicornhunter

The Crossing - Bad Science

I enjoyed the adventure aspect of this episode but the logic and science seemed terribly flawed and I'm only an amatuer scientist. Any thoughts?

1. Didn't the fact that the wisps could remove the crew from their bodies imply that humans are dual natured and if the wisps could remove us we should be able to learn to remove ourselves - no evolving necessary.

2. How do wisps travel in subspace yet are not able to survive in space - if they are noncorporeal why do they need a ship? If they can't repair the ship how do they pilot it? And how did they travel through space between ships.

3. How did Phlox resuscitate everyone just be changing the air supply?

4. If they shielding in the Catwalk kept out the wisps - how did Trip get in?

5. Does being converted to energy automatically give the ability to transcend the boundaries of space/time? It didn't in TNG or TOS.

6. If we have a dual nature - ie a consciousness that could be removed shouldnt the means be mechanical - like a power surge rather than mental will as T'Pol implied? How is a forceable takeover a temptation?

7. Remember TOS - where the three surviving "consciousnesses" of a dead race inhabited Kirk/Spock/female doctor. They weren't energy wisps they hung out in orbs (Spock hid out in nurse chapel for a while)

1. Didn't the fact that the wisps could remove the crew from their bodies imply that humans are dual natured and if the wisps could remove us we should be able to learn to remove ourselves - no evolving necessary.

Maybe when the "whisps" remove us, it's something they "evolved" to be able to do, like having an out of body experrience? Maybe they "evolved" to leave their bodies at will, and then just abandon them? Perhaps they "can" pilot and fix their ship, but the damage was too extensive?